U.S. to Stop Issuing Visas to 4 Countries

The U.S. plans to stop issuing visas to four countries -- three African and one Asian --- that it says aren’t accepting deported citizens. The countries are Eritrea, Guinea, Sierra Leone and Cambodia.

The Associated Press reports the sanctions are meant to encourage “recalcitrant” countries into accepting the return of individuals the U.S. tries to remove. The Department of Homeland Security recommended the State Department to take action against the four countries.

The Voice of America reports the U.S. has suspended visas twice before under previous administrations.